Skip to content

Combat Baby

August 5, 2009

After reading Gala’s 50 Things Every Girl Should Do in Her Life Time, most notably number 27, evolve your look & scare yourself (often!), I realized that I have been stuck in a bit of a style rut.

I mean, my love affair with all things feminine and excessive, big bows, ruffles, poofy skirts and dresses, pearls and flower headbands, floral print and pretty colors has been long established to the point where my friends are able to go into a store and point out, Laura would die over that. And anything with a bow I’m automatically inclined to want to buy (especially if it’s on a headband.) I’ve become so at ease with this look that I’m getting a bit bored of it.

Lately, wearing my oxford stiletto platform oxfords (because, ironically, it does not irritate the painful blisters from my Ferragamos…) has helped me ease into a slightly more fierce, tough girl look. These heels have a menswear influenced vibe and the stiletto is quite femme fetale and immensely satisfying. So much so that today, on my unlikely trip to H&M today, I decided to embrace Gala’s suggestion and start looking at things that I normally would never consider, like a big, heavy shiny metal necklace, or hot coral pink seamed tights, or even…the last pair of shoes I would have ever expected myself to look at: combat boots.

Yes ladies and gentlemen, after spending way too much time contemplating in the store, I decided to go for the unexpected and walked away with a pair of these. No frills or bows or dainty heels. Just rough attitude and total comfort. That, on top of the musical inclined earring set, colorful underwear, big chunky metal necklace, and coral pink tights, of course.



Okay, so maybe it’s a bit questionable as to whether I’m the sort of girl who can pull off a layered ruffled Erin Fetherston dress with a pair of combat boots, but it’s not about what you wear so much as how you wear it. The other side of that argument is that clothing makes the person, I known my attitude’s certainly been affected by things I’ve worn. But either way, I wouldn’t mind a bit of edge in my wardrobe or personality. After all, if lovely girls like Gala and Alix can do it and do it so well, then so can I.

What do you think? Are combat boots a comfortable and refreshing trend or better meant for the battle field? How would you wear them?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 4:50 pm

    i must say that i love love love the combat boots. its all attitude!

    and i think you can pull it off with the ruffle dress.

    i say go for it.
    make a statement.

  2. August 5, 2009 5:45 pm

    (I think I may have found you via iCiNG but I can’t remember… fellow NYU student over here in any case!)

    I’m not the most fashion-savvy person ever, but here are two things I think about combat boots: 1) it looks cool when people wear them right, and a lot of times this happens when they’re worn with super girly dresses like you and Gala and Alix! 2) sometimes they aren’t the most flattering on calves (this is not at all aimed at you or anyone in particular) so I am surprised they don’t get more crap for that aspect. You pull them off adorably in the outfit!!

  3. August 5, 2009 6:32 pm

    Alix inspired me to do the same!
    I just loved her flowered Doc Martens and I love how these combat boots look on you, especially with that Erin Fetherston dress.
    Congrats !

  4. livs permalink
    August 6, 2009 1:04 am

    first timer at your blog- those boots look great šŸ™‚ i’m glad you decided to buy them

  5. August 6, 2009 6:27 am

    Love the whole vibe that the outfit gives off..and the combat boots are lovely

  6. Skye permalink
    December 8, 2009 8:24 pm

    i like the combat boots! Im actually looking to buy some. Did you find those in H&M? or did you find them in a different store? Please let me know, I really need help finding a good pair. šŸ™‚

    • Laura permalink*
      December 8, 2009 9:01 pm

      Yup, I got those at H&M but it was a while ago so I’m not sure they still have them…

  7. Ellie permalink
    December 30, 2010 6:42 pm

    I love the combat boots. What brand are they?? I’m actually looking for a pair just like those

  8. October 14, 2011 5:28 pm

    These are really quite lovely and, at bottom, they don’t detract from the sweetness of the dress. A little bit ‘edgy’ but nothing to be afraid of!

Leave a Reply

