Skip to content

An Interview With…Sabino!

July 25, 2009

You probably know Sabino best from his beautiful and widely loved Tumblr of the same name, but the 21-year-old photographer/blogger extraordinaire/part time law/journalism student has more to say than his impeccable taste in photographs. His numerous online projects include his Tumblr, Noquedanblogs and Recordis Photography, not to mention the beautiful photos of his own. He talks of the eternal film versus digital debate, his views toward “tumblarity” and his dreamy romance with Mon (aka Audreyhepburncomplex) in our interview.

How and when did you start becoming interested in photography?

I’ve always been interested in photography, bookmarking the photos I liked, going to photo exhibitions, reading about it, etc. But I never tried taking photos until I bought my first camera, a Holga, about a year ago. About a month after that some of my photos got shown on a little photography exhibition in Santiago that got me really exited on photography. Then I bought more lomo cameras just because they where cheap, until I decided to buy my very first DSLR, a Nikon D60 about 4 month ago and I have been using mostly that since then.

mon

Film or digital (and why?)

Oh, that’s a tricky question. I like shooting and enjoy seeing film photography a lot more than digital (Polaroids being my favorite). And I understand people liking film much more, saying Digital photography is not actually real photography and I also understand that there is no comparison on the quality. But probably many of the people out there don’t understand that digital photography has increased not only the number of ‘photographers’ out there but also the quality of the photos because you can keep shooting.

Some time ago only professional photographers took good pictures. Nowadays, everyone, just like me, can take a digital camera and shoot literally hundreds and hundreds of photos and get two or three ‘professional’ shots, playing with camera settings in the way without knowing that much about photography. That’s why we can see so many beautiful photos on Flickr lately, and I love it!

What are some of your favorite subjects to shoot?

I don’t have anything in mind while holding my camera, but I think I enjoy the most taking photos of people. I love portraits and I really enjoy taking them.

mon

So when did you get started on Tumblr? I know you’ve been on Tumblr long enough to see some of its changes, what do you think about some of its newer features?

I started using Tumblr in October of 2008, mostly as a bookmarking blog for photos I liked. I have a love/hate thing going on with the features. For example, I love the keyboard navigation thing that tumblr staff has come up with, and every dashboard feature in general are very welcome. But other features has been very frustrating for me, I’ve noticed that now we are limited -for example- to only two questions a day. That doesn’t make any sense, no one should force us to blog or not blog something, we should be the ones deciding if we post an image, text, quote, link or whatever.

Tumblarity. Believe it or not, I like the idea of tumblarity because I’m a big fan of statistics in general and I think it’s fair to know the popularity of your blog. But I like the idea just because I’m very interested in the internet in general and its impact as a media. The thing I hated was making tumblarity public, the popularity of your blog should always be private and you should be the only one deciding what to do with that information.

I think ‘public tumblarity’ is by far the worst experience I’ve ever had with tumblr, that includes the platform and community. I don’t want to explain why in detail, but as my tumblarity was ridiculously high when the whole thing went public many people started judging me, and I received lots of negative comments about what I was doing.

So, personal question that you might not want to answer (& totally fine if you don’t), but I know you and Mon have been dating for a while and I think it’s the sweetest thing ever. It’s kind of like The Sartorialist and Garance Dore. Anyway, I think readers would love to hear how you guys met and all that lovely stuff. How is the long distance thing working out (aside from being wonderfully romantic) and does tumblr play a part in your relationship at all?

Haha, I don’t know if I should be answering this because it involves another person but I will try. We met at school, we both entered Law school and since I first saw her I thought she was the most beautiful girl of the whole school. I don’t know how but we started dating very shortly after we met. Eight months later she went to study to the US and we both decided that should not be an obstacle in our relationship. And despite the difficulties and everything the long distance does to a relationship, we are still together after more than two years now. We see each other during our vacations and of course, even if this sounds stupid to some, we share a lot on the internet. Not only tumblr but thanks to all the things we have this days to communicate distances seems shorter in somehow. I know it sounds crazy, but it does help, I can promise.

What are some of your future goals as far as blogging and photography?

Of course, I have more blog ideas for the network and I will invite a few others to participate to create a nice community, oriented to everything coming from the creative world such as fashion, photography, images, design, art, illustration, etc. After that I just have to wait and see what happens.

And we can’t wait to find out. Remember to check out Sabino’s photos on Flickr and his other sites for more of his wonderful work.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2009 3:11 pm

    Hahahaha, awesome!

  2. July 27, 2009 1:50 am

    Wow I can’t believe he started taking photos only a year ago, thats so impressive!!! and also very inspiring.

    great interview!

Leave a Reply

