Skip to content

welcome to new york

September 2, 2008

It would be difficult, really really difficult, to try to sum up everything that’s happened in my past week here in New York. I mean, sure, I can make laundry list of all the things I did and the places I went to and (sometimes) the people I did them with. I can describe all my little misadventures and getting lost and awkward moments and embarassing times. I can talk about the beauty of just walking around the village, of being at the Hudson at night with the beautiful sparkling skyline. I can gush about Madison Square Garden and the Guggenheim and the MET and central park. I can try to capture a little spark of what I’ve taken away from every interesting person I’ve met, and there have been quite a lot…so many that it’s a bit hard to keep track. But if I did that, even if I did that, it wouldn’t quite capture the truth of what happened and the magic of each and every moment. Maybe it’s just enough to say that I love it.

Today was my first day of class. I only had the infamous Writing the Essay, and I can’t quite form a distinctive opinion about it or my professor or my classmates yet. But I am rather glad to be getting into the academic side of things–as incredible as welcome week was, it did make NYU appear to be all fun and no work. I’m slowly but surely getting the hang of things. And I like that feeling.

But it is so very hot….oh dear air conditioning, why can’t you be sweet good enough for our dorm?

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 4, 2008 12:23 pm

    I am so glad that you’re having a good time with the city! I really hate when people bitch and moan about NYC — there’s so many incredible things here, and I’ve lived in and around the city for most of my life now, and I never get bored. People who lose sight of the city’s awesomeness are just doing it wrong.

Leave a Reply

