Skip to content

June 6, 2008

Book: Gentlemen of the Road by Michael Chabon

Verdict: It was a tale of adventure, and thus something totally unexpected, different from nearly everything else I’ve been reading lately or really ever. Especially unexpected from Michael Chabon, as this is an adventure in the truest sense of the word. There are Jews with swords and elephants and healers and epic battles. There is a princess, really, dressed as a boy, vicious and unlikely heroes. It was fun to read, a good change from the typical. Although, still not my favorite type of novel, I appreciate what Michael Chabon has done, and perhaps, in the future, would be more likely to look towards books with an extraordinary sense of adventure.

And elsewhere:

These last few days of school doesn’t feel like the last few days of school. There’s only three more real school days, and soon after that, we graduate. But this week went by in a slur of Scrabble, cards, reading, ipod listening (speaking of which–I think I left my ipod in the journalism class, which is a rather terrifying and upsetting prospect. Let’s hope it’s still there on Monday.) and my new favorite game, Apples to Apples.

Yesterday we had our journalism end of the year banquet at an actual restaurant called BJ’s where we had pizza and pasta and bread sticks that ended up being my favorite, and also, this amazing creation called pizookie, otherwise known as a brilliant idea for a dessert that’s probably terrible health wise, but delicious, not considering things as ridiculous as “health” and “nutrition.”

I have another new resolution inspired by the amazing blog and photos of this adorable Swedish girl whose life looks like something out of a fairy tale and incredibly beautiful, always. Taking more photos and posting them here! Photos are fun and delicious and more importantly help you remember the things you would forget.

Currently–all my friends and I are completely obsessed with the Alphabeat song, “What is Happening?” It makes me feel like I’m in a teen melodrama romance.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

