Skip to content

Vintage Subway Tea Party

December 13, 2009


Is it possible to travel back in history 700 years for just two dollars and twenty five cents? Just ask the attendees of Levys’ Family’s (NY’s first family tour guides, apparently) (not officially sanctioned) vintage tea party they threw on a 1930s V train. Given the wicker chairs, whirling ceiling fans, jerking slow speed and flickering lights of the train plus the old time live jazz band that played, and the ever so well dressed (in various mashes of decades and eras and to various degrees of elaborate) riders, the atmosphere was nearly authentic.

As riders struggled with balancing cameras, plates of cookies and tea and gripping railings, delighted in the stares of unsuspecting normal train riders unaware of the time traveling shenanigans, as usual, I marvel at the adventures of New York and the romance of bow ties and top hats. Then, as the train lurches forward and I nearly spill my tea and drop my precious DSLR in my air constraining corset and with the discomfort of garter straps cutting into my thighs, I’m somewhat glad this sort of time traveling is temporary make believe. Really, really, wonderful make believe.






8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2009 10:06 pm

    Those cars are something else, that’s for sure. Not only was the general public surprised that this …THING had rolled into their station, but they were even more surprised to find out that there was food and drink inside!

  2. robinesque permalink
    December 14, 2009 5:29 am

    I found your blog because of the Tea Party … and while I didn’t make it out (thanks to medical ails) I am sure we’ll bump into each other at future vintage events. Beautiful writing here and great work with the rest of your blogs, as well. Truly inspiring and refreshing.

  3. December 14, 2009 10:13 am

    Oh. My. God.
    That’s so beautiful… and I totally wish they did that sort of thing where I live.

    Love your blog, love your writing, keep it up! <3

  4. December 14, 2009 11:50 pm

    This sounds amazing! I wish there was something like this in my area/could live in NY to do something like this. Lovely job with the writing and photos!

  5. December 15, 2009 8:33 am

    What fun! This is going on my to-do-list for the next time I’m in NYC!

  6. Alliesaurus permalink
    December 17, 2009 12:51 pm

    this looks like it was so much fun! I want to go..

Trackbacks

  1. Things I Love Thursday! « pretentious and pop
  2. All Aboard the Nostalgia Train! | Subway Art Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

